AAA Prizes and Awards - Connect with AAA
Skip to content
Login Communities Publications Calendar About AAA Contact Join Donate Shop Jobs
People in field Mobile
People in field Desktop

In This Section

AAA Prizes and Awards

From Our Sponsors
Media Education Foundation: Enter the AAA-exclusive virtual screening room

In This Section

Apply for an Award:

Please Note: Starting in 2020, all applications must be submitted electronically. Paper submissions will no longer be accepted.

Apply Yourself

AAA Leadership Fellows

Awarded annually and established to provide a unique opportunity for anthropologists early in their careers to learn about AAA and leadership opportunities and to encourage future leadership in the association. A $500 travel subsidy will be provided to attend the Annual Meeting.

Previous Leadership Fellows Recipients

Dissertation Fellowship for Historically Underrepresented Persons in Anthropology (formerly the Minority Dissertation Award)

The AAA invites minority doctoral candidates in anthropology to apply for a dissertation writing fellowship of $10,000 awarded annually.

Previous Dissertation Fellowship Recipients

Carole H. Browner Latin American Studies Fellowship Fund for Travel (LASFFT)

This award establishes a restricted need-based fund to be used solely for the purpose of supporting the travel for graduate and undergraduate students from Mexico, Central, and South America to the American Anthropological Association (AAA) annual meeting.

Previous LASFFT Recipients

David M. Schneider Award

Throughout his life, David Schneider's work on kinship, culture theory and American culture was provocative and iconoclastic. This $1,000 award will be given annually in recognition of work that treats one or more of these topics in a fresh and innovative fashion.

Previous Schneider Award Recipients

Palestine-Israel Fellowship Fund for Travel (PIFFT)

PIFFT is designed to support Palestinian scholars. It may also support those dissenting Israeli scholars whose academic freedom is limited.

Nominate Someone

AAA Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching of Anthropology

This award given annually was established in 1997 to recognize teachers who have contributed to and encouraged the study of anthropology.

Previous Teaching Award Recipients

AAA Engaged Anthropology Award

This award honors individual anthropologists (or multi-disciplinary groups or organizations with at least one anthropologist) or projects which have demonstrated a deep commitment to social justice and community engagement by applying anthropology to effectively address a pressing issue facing people and the planet.

Previous AAA Engaged Anthropology Award Recipients

Alfred Vincent Kidder Award for Eminence in the Field of American Archaeology

Established in 1950, this award is given biennially to an outstanding archaeologist specializing in the archaeology of the Americas.

Previous Kidder Award Recipients

Anthropology in Media Award (AIME)

This award given annually was established in 1987 to recognize the successful communication of anthropology to the general public through the media.

Previous AIME Award Recipients

Franz Boas Award for Exemplary Service to Anthropology

This award is presented annually by the AAA to its members whose careers demonstrate extraordinary achievement that have well served the anthropological profession.

Previous Boas Award Recipients

Gender Equity Award

This award recognizes individuals whose service to the discipline brings to light and investigates practices in anthropology that are potentially sexist and discriminatory based on gender presentation.

Previous Gender Equity Award Recipients

SfAA/AAA Margaret Mead Award

This $1,000 award is presented annually to a younger scholar for a particular accomplishment such as a book, film, monograph, or service, which interprets anthropological data and principles in ways that make them meaningful and accessible to a broadly concerned public.

Previous Mead Award Recipients

Solon T. Kimball Award for Public and Applied Anthropology

This biennial award was established to honor exemplary anthropologists for outstanding recent achievements that have contributed to the development of anthropology as an applied science and have had important impacts on public policy.

Previous Kimball Award Recipients

Apply Yourself or Nominate Someone

Conrad M. Arensberg Award

The AAA is excited to announce the Conrad M. Arensberg Award. This award will honor individuals who have furthered the study of anthropology as a natural science.

Previous Conrad M. Arensberg Recipients

Robert B. Textor and Family Prize for Excellence in Anticipatory Anthropology

This award given annually was established in 1998 to encourage and reward excellent contributions in the use of anthropological perspectives, theories, models and methods in an anticipatory mode.

Previous Textor Prize Recipients

Other AAA Awards

AAA President's Award

Selected by the current president annually and presented at the Annual Meeting.

Previous President's Award Recipients

Distinguished Lecturer

Selected by a panel of past presidents, and established in 1969, a Distinguished Lecturer is named biennially to recognize intellectual contributions in anthropology. The text of the recipient's lecture, presented at the Annual Meeting, is published in American Anthropologist.

Previous Distinguished Lecturer Recipients

You Might Also Like