Franz Boas Award for Exemplary Service to Anthropology - Connect with AAA
Skip to content
Login Communities Publications Calendar About AAA Contact Join Donate Shop Jobs
Connect with AAA
Connect with AAA

In This Section

Franz Boas Award for Exemplary Service to Anthropology

From Our Sponsors
Ad for Schoool for Advanced Research­­ 2022-23 fellowship. Apply at

In This Section

portrait of Franz Boas, circa 1915

The Award

The Franz Boas Award for Exemplary Service to Anthropology, formerly the Distinguished Service Award, was established in 1976. This award is presented annually by the Association to its' members whose careers demonstrate extraordinary achievements that have well served the anthropological profession. Service to the Association is commonly recognized, as are outstanding applications of anthropological knowledge to improving the human condition. Great teachers of anthropology at all levels have received this award.

Read About Past Boas Award Recipients.


The call for nominees is below. The awardees are recommended by the Awards Committee and chosen by the Executive Board at its spring meeting. The awardees are then celebrated at the AAA Annual Meeting.

Call for Nominations: Franz Boas Award for Exemplary Service to Anthropology

AAA is pleased to announce the call for nominations for the Franz Boas Award for Exemplary Service to Anthropology (formerly the Distinguished Service Award). Established in 1976, the Boas Award recognizes AAA Association members who have made exceptional contributions to anthropology with respect to the increase and dissemination of humanistic and scientific knowledge and/or service to the profession. This is your opportunity to recognize members and colleagues who have contributed significantly to the field of anthropology. The Association relies on you for nominations. Please take advantage of this opportunity.

Nomination Guidelines

The nominee's accomplishments should be contextualized and put into perspective. Depending upon the award in question, one may want to address the following types of questions:

  1. Where does the nominee's work fit within the discipline? What is its significance?
  2. What is the extent of the nominee's work and its impact on the field? On students? On the general public? On other disciplines?
  3. How does the particular book or work upon which the nominee's recommendation is based demonstrate excellence: conceptually, in terms of impact, creativity, and influence?

Please note that nominees are considered for three years. Those not chosen in the first year will be considered for two more years. If a nominator would like to include multiple nomination letters from colleagues, please email those letters to the nominator to upload all of letters into the same application.

Submission Deadline: March 2022

Information on how to apply will be available this winter.

You Might Also Like