Setha M. Low Engaged Anthropology Award - Connect with AAA
Skip to content
Login Communities Publications Calendar About AAA Contact Join Donate Shop Jobs
A photo of the 2018 AAA Executive Board.
A photo of the 2018 AAA Executive Board.

In This Section

Setha M. Low Engaged Anthropology Award

From Our Sponsors
New OER Available from Indiana University of Pennsylvania. Introduction to Anthropology: Holistic and Applied Research on Being Human

In This Section

The Award

The Setha M. Low Engaged Anthropology Award honors individual anthropologists (or multi-disciplinary groups or organizations with at least one anthropologist) or projects which have demonstrated a deep commitment to social justice and community engagement by applying anthropology to effectively address a pressing issue facing people and the planet.

Awardees should exhibit outstanding best practices in advancing public service, outreach, and community engagement in their work; engaged research and scholarship that is conducted for the benefit of, and in partnership with a community (broadly defined); building institutional commitments to service-learning and social justice; or mutually beneficial community partnerships that address critical community needs in the pursuit of social justice and human rights.

Projects or endeavors may be ongoing at the time of award entry. However, no more than three years should have passed between the project conclusion and the award entry receipt. This is not a career or lifetime achievement award; rather, it recognizes the value of applying anthropology to specific problems and projects. The competition is open to any members.

The award winners are selected by a panel of AAA Awards Committee members. Awardees will be announced at the Annual AAA meetings. Winners will be recognized by an award plaque, in addition to one night reimbursed at one of the AAA meeting hotels and will be acknowledged on the AAA website.

This award is made possible by a gift from AAA Past President Setha M. Low.

Nomination Requirements

Application Requirements


Please note that nominees are considered for three years. Those not chosen in the first year will be considered for two more years.

The winner will serve as a member of the Panel the first year, as Chair of the Panel the second year, and as a member again the third year.

Submission Deadline: March 15

Questions and concerns should be directed to Meagan Shirley 

You Might Also Like