Gender Equity Award - Connect with AAA
Skip to content
Login Communities Publications Calendar About AAA Contact Join Donate Shop Jobs
A photo of the 2018 AAA Executive Board.
A photo of the 2018 AAA Executive Board.

In This Section

Gender Equity Award

From Our Sponsors
Ad: A rectangle ad with a blue stripe across the top and multiple colored orange triangles across the bottom. The text reads in white “now accepting nominations” and under that in brown, “$7500 J. I. Staley Prize.” Then under that, the text in black reads, “the staley prize recognizes innovate books in anthropology that add new dimensions to our understanding of the human species.” Under that in bold black text “Guidelines and forms: school for advance research,” then under that in white text “exploring humanity. understanding our world.”

In This Section

The Award

The Gender Equity Award (formerly known as the CoGEA or "squeaky wheel" Award) recognizes individuals whose service to the discipline demonstrates the courage to bring to light and investigate practices in anthropology that are potentially sexist and discriminatory based on gender presentation.

Historically, this award has honored those who have acted to raise awareness of women's contributions to anthropology, worked to identify barriers to full participation by women in anthropology, or helped to bring about significant shifts in intellectual paradigms through their anthropological research on women's lives.

In recent years, the Gender Equity Award has expanded to include an even broader scope. In addition to honoring scholars who work against discrimination against women in anthropology, the committee celebrated feminist scholars working to raise awareness of discrimination in anthropology on the grounds of gender presentation of any kind. Award recipients are expected to serve on the selection committee for the following year. 

Scholars and practitioners from all subfields of anthropology, at stages ranging anywhere from promising mid-career to proven late-career, were honored for acting to improve the status of those discriminated against on the basis of sex or gender identity in anthropology through:

View previous award winners.

Nomination Requirements

Some of the strongest candidates in the past received nominations and testimonies from multiple nominators.


Please note that nominees are considered for three years. Those not chosen in the first year will be considered for two more years.

Award recipients are expected to serve on the selection committee for the following two years.

Submission Deadline: March 15, 2021

If you have any questions, please contact Katie Patschke.

You Might Also Like